Point Lisas Energy Association of CEO's

Health, Safety, Environment & Community Committee

(PLEA HSEC Committee)

PLIPDECO and the major petrochemical tenants of the Point Lisas Industrial Estate, under the auspices of the Point Lisas Energy Association of CEO's (PLEA) embarked upon a project to ensure that all stakeholders are made aware of the operations on the industrial estate and are adequately prepared for emergencies that may arise through industrial mishaps due to chemical releases, explosions, fires or natural disasters (earthquakes, hurricanes and floods). PLEA therefore took a decision to develop and implement an Estate-wide Community Awareness and Emergency Response programme to improve on its community interaction and relations on emergency preparedness and response.

The programme PLEA Health, Safety, Environment & Community (HSEC) Committee formally and originally dubbed CAER (pronounced care), was established in the year 2000 comprising PLIPDECO (as Chair of the Committee) and representations from the following organizations:

  • Air Liquide
  • Ansa Mc Al Chemicals Limited
  • ArcelorMittal
  • Desalination Company of T&T (DESALCOTT)
  • First Citizens Bank
  • Industrial Gases Limited
  • Industrial Plant Services Limited
  • Methanex Limited
  • Nu Iron Unlimited
  • Point Lisas Nitrogen Limited
  • PCS Nitrogen Limited
  • National Energy Corporation
  • National Gas Company of T&T
  • Phoenix Park Gas Processors Limited
  • YARA (Trinidad) Limited
  • Environmental Management Authority
  • Couva/Tabaquite/Talparo Regional Corporation (C.T.T.R.C.)
  • Couva Point Lisas Chamber of Commerce
  • Trinidad and Tobago Police Service
  • Trinidad and Tobago Fire Service
  • Office of Disaster and Preparedness Management.

In 1996, it was mandated by the Government of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago through the Environmental Management Committee of Point Lisas to develop and implement a comprehensive approach for improved Environmental Management on the Point Lisas Industrial Estate. To implement the technical aspect of this a Technical Sub-Committee (TSC) comprising of environmental professionals of the larger petrochemical industries, PLIPDECO, the Environmental Management Authority and the Ministry of Energy & Energy Industries was established.